top of page

Bringing My Curls Back to Life

Updated: Sep 30, 2023

Purpose of an Aztec Clay: it detoxes your hair, getting rid of all buildup and chemicals that might be in your hair.


Purpose of a Protein Treatment: “Our hair shafts are made up of 98% protein, a protein called keratin. The keratin amino acid chain forms the structure of the hair strand. Why? Because protein is a strengthener within itself. If you eat protein, you can build muscle. If you put protein on your hair, it will make your hair stronger.” - OrganiGrowHairCo 


The reason I did it in this order: An Aztec Clay Mask gets rid of buildup, so putting this on before my Protein Mask, gets rid of all the buildup so the protein can penetrate my hair without getting blocked. Then doing the Protein Mask after the Aztec Clay Mask, brings strength back into my hair. Then I shampooed to get rid of any remaining avocado or yogurt from my straids and scalp. Lastly deep conditioning to being back all the moisture.

Order:

1. Aztec Clay Mask

2. Protein Mask

3. Shampoo

4. Deep Conditioning

5. L.C.O


Disclaimer: I don't do this all the time! I do this when my hair is so bad it needs it. This was my process, but of course you can cater this to your hair! Add or remove products that are catered to your hair. We might have different textures and porosity’s which means you might have different methods and ingredients you like to use! Listen to your hair and do what you think it needs.


Okay lets get started!


Ingredients for Aztec Clay Mask

  • Aztec Clay 

  • Water 

  • Apple Cider Vinegar

  • Oil of choice (I used Extra Virgin Olive oil, Grapeseed oil & Vitamin E oil)


Ingredients for Protein Mask (inspired by the Cherry Lola Treatment)

  • Avocado 

  • Greek Plain Yogurt 

  • Raw Honey

  • Aloe Vera

  • Liquid Amino

  • Extra Virgin Avocado Oil

  • Black Castor Oil

  • Vitamin E oil


Products I Used:

Shampoo

  • Growpoo Moisturizing Shampoo

Deep Conditioners:  

  • Carol's Daughter Coco Crème Curl Quenching Deep Moisture Mask

  • SheaMoisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen, Grow & Restore 

Leave-in

  • SheaMoisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Leave In Conditioner

Cream

  • Melanin Haircare Twist Elongating Style Cream

Butter

  • Alaffia Pure Fair Trade Shea Butter


(Before shampoo)

Aztec clay mask 

  1. Spray hair with warm water 

  2. Detangle gently 

  3. Make clay mask ---> Aztec clay + Water + Apple Cider Vinegar + Oils of your choice 

  4. Apply clay mask in SECTIONS

  5. Let it dry for 1-2 hours (do not put a plastic cap on!)

  6. Wash out 



Protein mask 

  1. Spray water with warm water 

  2. I personally did not use a comb during this mask, I just used my fingers to avoid excessive manipulation.

  3. Make protein mask 

  4. Mix: Avocado, Greek Pain Yogurt, Raw Honey, Aloe Vera, Liquid Amino, Extra Virgin Avocado Oil, Black Castor Oil & Vitamin E oil

  5. Use a blender and make sure there are NO clumps (otherwise it will get stuck in your hair when you was it out)

  6. Apply mask in SECTIONS

  7. Put a plastic cap on (to attract heat)

  8. Leave on for 30 mins- 1 hour 

  9. Wash out the mask


Shampoo


Deep conditioner 

  1. Spray warm water

  2. Use a moisturizing deep conditioner 

  3. I like to apply the deep conditioner then layer oil on top of it (like you would do with the L.C.O/L.O.C method) it helps lock in the moisture from the deep conditioner.

  4. Oil: I like to make a mixture of oils I have at home and just sit them in hot water to warm up, then apply it. (Tip: you can put the oils in a container and put in a warm bath of water in your sink)

  5. Put on a plastic cap

  6. Optional: sit under the dry to attract more heat and allow the deep conditioner penetrate deeper. I allowed my deep conditioner to sit for 2 hours, the last 30 mins I sat under the dryer.

  7. Wash it out 


Leave-in, Cream & Oil/ Pomade 

  1. Use what ever method works for you (I use the L.C.O method)

  2. Apply your products 

  3. Put your hair in twist to allow the products to penetrate, I leave the twist in overnight to make sure my hair soaks up all the products.

  4. Oil your scalp

  5. I like to make my own D.I.Y scalp oils with oils I have and keep it in a dropper or bottle with a tip to reapply throughout the week.



Other tips:

  • Sleep with a satin pillow case rather than cotton, because it soaks up the moisture in your hair.

Results 

Try it out and tag me in your posts! Id love to see and repost them.


Two days after this process I got box braids and it saved my life LMAO


Comment what you like to do to bring your curls back to life! Let's share some idea!


xoxo whynotgonaural


4,022 views3 comments

3 Comments


Guest
Oct 17, 2021

Why should you not put a plastic cap over your head when doing the Aztec clay mask?

Like

Guest
Oct 16, 2021

¿What is the LCO method?

Like
Guest
Dec 29, 2021
Replying to

You apply your leave-in conditioner, then your cream, then oil to lock in (or seal) the products

Like
bottom of page